About Us

The Boy Scouts of America has provided a comprehensive youth development program for communities across America since 1910. 

The Northern Lights Council is chartered by the National Council, Boy Scouts of America to administer BSA programs within our assigned territory, which covers the entire state of North Dakota, 18 counties in northwest Minnesota, and 2 counties each in Montana and South Dakota. The council was incorporated in 1974 following a merger of four Boy Scout Councils in North Dakota and northwestern Minnesota.

You can find out more about local districts and offices by zooming in and clicking on sections of the map below.

Vision Statement

The Boy Scouts of America is the nation’s foremost youth program of character development and values-based leadership training. In the future, Scouting will continue to:

  • Offer young people responsible fun and adventure;
  • Instill in young people lifetime values and develop in them ethical character as expressed in the Scout Oath and Law;
  • Train young people in citizenship, service and leadership;
  • Serve America’s communities and families with its quality, values-based program.
Scout Oath: On my honor I will do my best to do my duty to God and my country and to obey the Scout Law; to help other people at all times; to keep myself physically strong, mentally awake, and morally straight.

Scout Law: A Scout is trustworthy, loyal, helpful, friendly, courteous, kind, obedient, cheerful, thrifty, brave, clean, and reverent.

Council Executive Board

The Northern Lights Council Executive Board is elected annually by the Council members at large and Chartered Organization Representatives. The Executive Board is the governing body of the council territory, empowered by the council body to act in its stead. It takes action to achieve the purposes of the local council. It establishes the council program, carries out resolutions, establishes and enforces policy and hires a Scout Executive, all according to guidelines of the Council Body.

Among its responsibilities are:

  • Exercises all powers of the council body between meetings of the council. This does not include authority to change or amend the articles of incorporation.
  • Approves the program and plans of various committees.
  • Selects and employs a council Scout Executive when a vacancy occurs.
  • Approves and administers a budget adequate to achieve the objectives of Scouting.
  • Coordinates and supports the work of districts in various phases of Council Program and works to build strong district organizations.
  • Raises the dollars necessary to carry out a full Scouting Program in the Council.

All meetings start at 8:00 AM (central) unless otherwise noted.

Board and Executive Committee members may attend:

  • In person at the Wanzek Center for Scouting in Fargo or Capital Credit Union Scout Center in Bismarck unless otherwise noted
  • Remotely by using Go to Meeting video conferencing or by telephone call
Executive Board Meeting Dates
  • Friday, August 19, 2022
  • Friday, October 21, 2022
  • Saturday, December 10, 2021
    • Executive Board & District Key 3 Retreat
Executive Committee Meeting Dates
  • Friday, June 17, 2022
  • Friday, September 16, 2022
  • Friday, November 18, 2022
Executive Committee
PositionName, City
Council PresidentTim Tello, Bismarck
Council CommissionerSteve Shark, Fargo
Scout Executive/Secretary (non-voting member)Richard McCartney, Fargo
Council Vice President & President-ElectDavid Johnson, Fargo
Council TreasurerJohn Huettl, Minot
Council Assistant TreasurerLisa Yoney, Fargo
Vice-President AdministrationBrad Ballweber, Bismarck
Vice-President DevelopmentDoug Restemayer, Fargo
Vice-President District OperationsMike Briggs, Bismarck
Vice-President MarketingShawn Johnston, Fargo
Vice-President MembershipMorgan Forness, Casselton
Vice-President ProgramJim Blotsky, Fargo
Vice-President EndowmentTim Sayler, Detroit Lakes
Vice-President At LargeDavid Sprynczynatyk, Bismarck
Council Legal CounselJohn Boulger, Fargo
Executive Board Members

Brad Ballweber, Bismarck

* Dave Beito, Thief River Falls

Jim Blotsky, Fargo

John Boulger, Fargo

Michael Briggs, Bismarck

Cameron Carlson, Thief River Falls

* Aaron Cofell, Bismarck

Adj Gen Al Dohrmann, Bismarck

Ryan Eagle, Fargo

Richard Espeland, Bismarck

Jay Feil, Mandan

Morgan Forness, Casselton

Steve Gander, East Grand Forks

Kathryn Hinds, Moorhead

John Huettl, Minot

Thomas Jefferson, Fargo

Jon Jensen, Bismarck

David Johnson, Fargo

Shawn Johnston, Fargo

Julie Lawyer, Bismarck

Mike Lepine, Fargo

Ralph J. Llewellyn, Fargo

Mark Malmberg, Oakes

Larry Maslowski, Bismarck

Joan McCusker, Fargo

Todd Medd, Fargo

Lisa Meier, Bismarck

Richard P. Olson, Minot

Nicholas Paulsen, Alexandria

Ty Pritchard, Fargo

Kent Reierson, Williston

Doug Restemayer, Fargo

* Jonathan Rosenthal, Minot

Brittany Sachdeva, Fargo

Dale Sandstrom, Bismarck

Tim Sayler, Fargo

Ed Schafer, Fargo

Tamie Schmidt, Bismarck

Ronald Schneider, Moorhead

Steve Shark, Fargo

Todd Simison, Detroit Lakes

Steve Smith, Fargo


David Sprynczynatyk, Bismarck

Tim Tello, Bismarck

Alex Vournas, Williston

Barry Wilfahrt, Grand Forks

Drew Wrigley, Bismarck

Lisa Yoney, Fargo


* District Chairman and ** Order of the Arrow Lodge Chief (youth) are members of the Executive Board by position