Executive Board

The Northern Lights Council Executive Board is elected annually by the Council members at large and Chartered Organization Representatives. The Executive Board is the governing body of the council territory, empowered by the council body to act in its stead. It takes action to achieve the purposes of the local council. It establishes the council program, carries out resolutions, establishes and enforces policy and hires a Scout Executive, all according to guidelines of the Council Body.

Among its responsibilities are:

  • Exercises all powers of the council body between meetings of the council. This does not include authority to change or amend the articles of incorporation.
  • Approves the program and plans of various committees.
  • Selects and employs a council Scout Executive when a vacancy occurs.
  • Approves and administers a budget adequate to achieve the objectives of Scouting.
  • Coordinates and supports the work of districts in various phases of Council Program and works to build strong district organizations.
  • Raises the dollars necessary to carry out a full Scouting Program in the Council.

2020 Executive Committee

Council President Tim Sayler, Fargo
Council Commissioner Stephen Snowden, Bismarck
Council Treasurer David Bergstrom, Fargo
Council Assistant Treasurer John Huettl. Minot
Vice-President Administration Brad Ballweber, Bismarck
Vice-President District Operations Mike Briggs, Bismarck
Vice-President Membership Mark Zimmerman, Bismarck
Vice-President Program Jim Blotsky, Fargo
Vice-President Marketing Shawn Johnston, Fargo
Vice-President Fund Development Doug Restemayer, Fargo
Immediate Past President David Sprynczynatyk, Bismarck
Council Past President Al Erickson, Fargo
Council Legal Council John Boulger, Fargo
Scout Executive/Secretary (non-voting member) Richard McCartney, Fargo

Executive Board and Committee Meetings

All meetings start at 8:00 am (central). Board members may attend:

  • In person at the Wanzek Center for Scouting in Fargo or Capital Credit Union Scout Center in Bismarck
  • Remotely by using Go to Meeting video conferencing or by telephone call


2020-2021 Executive Board Meetings

  • Friday, January 17, 2020
  • March 20, 2020 (Annual Business Meeting)
  • Friday, May 15, 2020
  • Friday, August 21, 2020
  • Friday, October 16, 2020
  • Friday, December 18, 2020
  • Friday, January 15, 2021
  • Friday, March 12, 2021 (Annual Business Meeting)
  • Friday, May 14, 2021
  • Friday, August 20, 2021
  • Friday, October 15, 2021
  • Friday, December 17, 2021

2020-2021 Executive Committee Meetings

  • Friday, February 21, 2020
  • Friday, April 17, 2020
  • Friday, June 19, 2020
  • Friday, September 18, 2020
  • Friday, November 20, 2020
  • Friday, February 19, 2021
  • Friday, April 16, 2021
  • Friday, June 18, 2021
  • Friday, September 17, 2021
  • Friday, November 12, 2021

2020 Executive Board Members

Joel Arnason, Grand Forks Shawn Johnston, Fargo Ed Schafer, Fargo
Brad Ballweber, Bismarck * Levent Kilic, Dickinson Ronald Schneider, Moorhead
David Bergstrom, Fargo Julie Lawyer, Bismarck Steve Shark, Devils Lake
John Boulger, Fargo Ralph J. Llewellyn, Fargo Todd Simison, Detroit Lakes
Jim Blotsky, Fargo Mark Malmberg, Oakes Stephen Snowden, Bismarck
Michael Briggs, Bismarck Larry Maslowski, Bismarck Steve Smith, Fargo
Cameron Carlson, Thief River Falls Joan McCusker, Fargo David Sprynczynatyk, Bismarck
Rex Carlson, Thief River Falls Lisa Meier, Bismarck Wayne Stenehjem, Bismarck
Norm Clark, Mandan * Todd Medd, Fargo Tim Tello, Bismarck
Scott Davis, Bismarck * Mark Nelson, Grand Forks Andy Van Dam, Detroit Lakes
Adj Gen Al Dohrmann, Bismarck Richard P. Olson, Minot Barry Wilfahrt, Grand Forks
Al Erickson, Fargo * Adrian Panther, Alexandria Lisa Yoney, Fargo
Richard Espeland, Bismarck Ty Pritchard, Fargo Mark Zimmerman, Bismarck
Steve Gander, East Grand Forks Kent Reierson, Williston  
Dann Greenwood, Dickinson Doug Restemayer, Fargo  
J.R. Greeley, Williston Reagan Rohl, Fargo  
John Huettl, Minot Stephen Rufer, Fergus Falls  
Kathryn Hinds, Fargo Dale Sandstrom, Bismarck  
Jon Jensen, Bismarck Tim Sayler, Fargo  


* District Chairman and ** Order of the Arrow Lodge Chief (youth) are members of the Executive Board by position

2020 Advisory Board Members

Frank Anderson, Fargo Robert Hanna, Moorhead Mark Nisbet, Fargo
Dr. Lance Bergstrom, Fargo Tom Hall, Moorhead Dave Oehlke, Devils Lake
Dan Butler, Fargo Michael Haugen, Fargo John Stern, Fargo
David Butler, Fargo Barry Medd, Grand Forks Jon Wanzek, Fargo
Michael Brown, Grand Forks Dr. Bruce Money, Fergus Falls Robert Wefald, Bismarck

Privacy Policy

Terms of Use

4200 19th Ave South
Fargo, ND 58103
(701) 293-5011